Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-02-27 - 6:48 p.m.

The 2nd leg of my D Day trip took me to Arromanche. This is where the large D Day museum is located. It's sort of out of season, so the museum was closed. I didn't really care, though, because I really don't like museums that much. Arromanche is where the Allied Englineers built a port where there was no port and they built it in about a week.

To me, it is striking to see these places and imagine that only 60 years ago there were hundreds of ships approaching and thousands of men swarming these beaches. It is beyond my comprehension. So, I'll let the pictures do the talking. Here is an anit-aircraft gun. How exactly can you hit anything in the air with this? I have never understood that. They just don't seem to be that effective. Here is a bunker that I climbed down into. There was nothing there but trash and it smelled like the restroom at an old baseball stadium.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!